Brian Kelly wins AP coach of year award

December, 19, 2012
Brian Kelly picked up his third coach of the year honor Wednesday, as the third-year Notre Dame head man was named the Associated Press coach of the year.

Kelly notched 25 votes, topping Penn State's Bill O'Brien (14), Stanford's David Shaw (4), Texas A&M's (3), Kansas State's Bill Snyder (2) and Alabama's Nick Saban (1)
"When you're talking about the coach of the year, there's so many things that go into it," Kelly said. "I know it's an individual award and it goes to one guy, but the feelings that I get from it is you're building the right staff, that you've got the right players and to me that is a validation of the program. That you put together the right business plan."

Kelly has already won the Eddie Robinson and Home Depot coach of the year awards this season, and he is a finalist for the Liberty Mutual coach of the year award.

Earlier this week, Kelly lost out on the Maxwell coach of the year award to O'Brien and was left off the six-man list of finalists for the Bear Bryant coach of the year award.

Matt Fortuna | email

College Football



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

'College Football Live' Extra: Biggest Plays
Ed Cunningham and Brock Huard offer up their choices for the most important and season-changing plays of the 2014 college football regular season.


Friday, 12/26
Saturday, 12/20
Monday, 12/22
Tuesday, 12/23
Wednesday, 12/24
Saturday, 12/27
Monday, 12/29
Tuesday, 12/30
Wednesday, 12/31
Thursday, 1/1
Friday, 1/2
Saturday, 1/3
Sunday, 1/4
Monday, 1/12