Three former ND players on Hall ballot

March, 5, 2013
Former Notre Dame players Bob Crable, Raghib Ismail and Aaron Taylor are three of the 77 names on the ballot for the National Football Foundation's College Hall of Fame, released Tuesday.

The class will be announced May 7 and inducted Dec. 10.

Crable is on the ballot for the third time, Ismail for the second time and Taylor for the first.

Crable was a consensus All-American at linebacker in 1980 and '81 and still holds the Irish record for career tackles (521), season tackles (187 in 1979) and game (26 in '79 vs. Clemson). Ismail was a two-time All-American receiver in 1989 and '90, finished runner-up in the 1990 Heisman voting and was a member of the 1988 national title team, the last at Notre Dame. Taylor was a two-time All-American at offensive tackle in 1992 and '93, winning the Lombardi Award in '93.

To be eligible, players must be between 10 and 50 years out of college ball, must be retired from pro football and must have been selected a first-team All-American by a group recognized by the NCAA for its consensus teams.

Matt Fortuna | email

College Football



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

Official Visit: Imminent ESPN 300 Decisions
Recruiting reporters Erik McKinney, Damon Sayles, Derek Tyson and Tom VanHaaren join ESPN's Phil Murphy to discuss some upcoming decisions for ESPN 300 recruits and a pair of five-star prospects who recently postponed their commitment date.