Brewers pay tribute to Bud Selig

Commissioner, who went to bat for Milwaukee, honored with statue

Updated: August 25, 2010, 2:07 AM ET
By Gordon Edes | ESPNBoston.com

MILWAUKEE -- Kenesaw Mountain Landis, the first commissioner of baseball, had the game's MVP award named after him, as well as an elementary school in Logansport, Ind.

Broadcasters elected to baseball's Hall of Fame receive the Ford Frick award. The University of Kentucky medical center is named after A.O. Happy Chandler. Peter Ueberroth was named Time magazine's Person of the Year and has a gymnasium named after him at the Sage School, a prep school of which he was a founder.

And ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?


  • Familiar Formula
    Jon Lester went 8 strong innings and Koji Uehara closed out the White Sox.
  • Chase For The Cup
    A championship eluded Jarome Iginla in his first 16 seasons. That could change.
  • Weight Of The World
    As Marathon race director, Dave McGillivray faces a daunting challenge.
  • Want Them Back?
    As we turn the page on the woeful Celtics, it's decision time: Who stays, who goes?
  • All For One
    Our arenas became rallying points in the aftermath of last year's bombings.