Tradition honorees include Bird, Law

Updated: June 28, 2011, 12:14 AM ET
By Greg Payne |

The Sports Museum's 10th annual "The Tradition" -- a yearly event celebrating Boston sports -- will honor its latest collection of distinguished New England athletes at TD Garden on Tuesday night, headlined by Celtics legend Larry Bird. Bird, receiving a lifetime achievement award, will be joined by fellow honorees Micky Ward, Bobbi Gibb, Ty Law, Mike Lowell, and Willie O'Ree.

Ward will receive the Boxing Legacy Award, Gibb will receive the Special Achievement Award, Law will be presented the Football Legacy Award, Lowell will receive the Baseball Legacy Award, and O'Ree will be presented the Hockey Legacy Award.

'The Tradition' will allow attendees to take part in a gala reception, during which they'll meet and interact with these legendary athletes, as well as with a group of esteemed presenters, including New England Patriots owner Robert Kraft, NHL commissioner Gary Bettman and Boston-born actor Mark Wahlberg. General admission tickets are $200, while reserved seating goes for $300.

Emceed by WEEI radio hosts Glenn Ordway and Michael Holley, the event will also include a silent auction and raffle, with the collective net proceeds going towards The Sports Museum, a non-profit educational institution that has been serving the New England area for more than 30 years.



  • Papi's Faulty Defense
    David Ortiz's passion might be admirable, but clean drug tests aren't foolproof evidence in this day and age.