McCamey named to All-Big Ten team

Illinois junior guard Demetri McCamey has been named to the All-Big Ten first team, the conference announced on Monday.

McCamey, who averaged 14.9 points and 6.8 assists per game for the Illini, joins Michigan State's Kalin Lucas, Purdue's Robbie Hummel and E'Twaun Moore and Ohio State's Evan Turner in winning All-Big Ten honors.

Turner, who averaged 19.5 points per game, 5.8 assists and 9.4 rebounds, was recognized by coaches and media as the Big Ten Player of the Year. He's a former teammate of McCamey's at St. Joseph's High School in Westchester.

Northwestern forward John Shurna was named to the All-Big Ten second team.

Honorable mention nods went to Illini center Mike Tisdale and Northwetsern guard Michael Thompson.

The coaches named Purdue's Chris Kramer the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year. Rounding out the conference's All-Defensive team are: Northwestern's Jeremy Nash, Ohio State's Dallas Lauderdale, Purdue's JaJuan Johnson and Wisconsin's Trevon Hughes.

Big Ten coaches also chose Illini guard D.J. Richardson as the conference's top freshman, while the media recognized Northwestern guard Drew Crawford. Both were named to the Big Ten All-Freshman team.