NBA rescinds T on Tyson Chandler

Updated: May 23, 2011, 9:01 PM ET
By Tim MacMahon | ESPNDallas.com

OKLAHOMA CITY -- For the second time during the Western Conference finals, the NBA rescinded a technical foul called on Dallas Mavericks center Tyson Chandler.

Upon further review, the league office ruled Sunday that Chandler's contact with Oklahoma City Thunder sixth man James Harden during the third quarter of the Mavs' Game 3 win Saturday was incidental and not unsportsmanlike.

Chandler was called for the technical after Harden hit the floor hard following some contact with the Mavs' big man with 4:43 remaining in the third quarter. Harden had just made a layup and Chandler was attempting to take the ball out of bounds when they bumped.

"It was not a vicious elbow," Chandler said before the Mavs' practice Sunday, when he was awaiting a ruling from the NBA. "I did not throw an elbow. I was trying to take the ball out of bounds. He tried to initiate contact and did a good job of flopping."

Chandler lifted his arms, with the ball in his hands, after bumping chests with Harden. There appeared to be minimal, if any, contact with Chandler's right elbow and Harden's face, but Harden stayed on the court for several seconds with his hands over his face. Harden stayed in the game and did not require any medical attention.

The NBA office agreed with the Mavericks' contention that Harden embellished the contact.

"He did a good job because he got me a technical and he got his team a point for it," Chandler said. "That's the case with a lot of them. They run into you, do little things. Whether you react or don't react, it seems that you kind of get caught up in the situation. It's our job just to stay away from it all. You come here to play basketball. You don't come here for the sideshow."

Chandler officially has three technical fouls this postseason, not including the two that have been rescinded this series. A player must serve a one-game suspension if he gets seven technicals during the playoffs.

The other technical foul against Chandler that was rescinded occurred during Game 1. Chandler and Oklahoma City center Kendrick Perkins were whistled for double technicals after a Perkins-initiated confrontation 70 seconds into the series, but the league ruled the next day that Chandler's actions did not merit a technical.

Tim MacMahon covers the Mavericks for ESPNDallas.com.

SPONSORED HEADLINES

ALSO SEE