Peers to honor Nantz, Rushin for sports coverage

Updated: January 25, 2006, 9:04 AM ET
Associated Press

SALISBURY, N.C. -- CBS announcer Jim Nantz and Sports Illustrated writer Steve Rushin were named national sportscaster and sportswriter of the year by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

The NSSA's 47th annual awards will be presented May 1 at Salisbury Depot.

The organization also names sportscasters and sportswriters of the year in almost every state. North Carolina honorees for 2006 are Woody Durham of the Tar Heel Sports Network and John Dell of the Winston-Salem Journal.

Legendary New York Yankees shortstop and announcer Phil Rizzuto, and writer W.O. McGeehan, whose "McGeehanism"-laden columns were a favorite in the now-defunct New York Herald Tribune, will be inducted this spring into the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame.

The association was founded in 1959 by Salisbury restaurant owner Pete DiMizio to honor regional sportscasters and sportswriters he had met at the Greensboro Open Golf Tournament.

In 1960, Lindsey Nelson was named the first national sportscaster of the year and Red Smith was named national sportswriter of the year. Grantland Rice became the first Hall of Fame inductee two years later.

Copyright 2006 by The Associated Press