New year, new rules: Rule No. 4
Rule No. 4: Golfers shouldn't suffer for sins of the wind
Golf's rule book is filled with nitpicking that outsiders find silly -- a stroke penalty if you accidentally drop your ball and it moves your marker, for example -- but that purists defend to the death. Even hardened traditionalists, though, have to concede the following: If the wind moves your ball after you've addressed it, you shouldn't be penalized a stroke. Does the USGA really think the golfer and the elements are in cahoots? Time to bury that one in a sand trap.
ESPN TOP HEADLINES
- Blazers send Spurs to 2nd straight 3OT loss
- NFL or Michigan? Harbaugh said to be torn
- Thunder squeak past ice-cold Kobe, Lakers
- Rondo 'dying to get another ring' with Mavs