Print and Go Back Olympics [Print without images]

Thursday, May 2, 2002
Gabel named new U.S. speedskating president

Associated Press

SALT LAKE CITY -- Four-time short-track Olympian Andy Gabel has been elected U.S. Speedskating's sixth president.

Gabel was a member of the 5,000-meter relay team that won the silver medal at the 1994 Lillehammer Games. He also served as the Salt Lake Organizing Committee's director of short-track speedskating and figure skating.

Gabel was elected at U.S. Speedskating's organizational meetings last weekend, succeeding Fred Benjamin. Gabel hopes to build on the record 11 medals won by speedskaters at the Salt Lake Games.

"It is an honor to have been elected president of an organization that has given so much to so many athletes and families over the years," said Gabel, who competed in the 1988, 1992, 1994 and 1998 Winter Olympics.

Gabel also was elected to the federation's 15-member governing board, along with former Olympic speedskaters Bonnie Blair Cruikshank and Dan Jansen, as well as 2002 Olympians Joey Cheek, Casey FitzRandolph, Amy Peterson and Jennifer Rodriguez.