Oregon's Siegel on Groza Award watch list

Updated: August 6, 2003, 11:32 PM ET

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. -- Last season's winner and two of last year's finalists were among the 30 kickers named to the 2003 Lou Groza Award preseason watch list on Wednesday.

Last year's winner, Iowa's Nate Kaeding, and the two other finalists for the award, Ohio State's Mike Nugent and Oregon's Jared Siegel were all named to the list. They join, among others, Florida State's Xavier Beitia, Georgia's Billy Bennett and Oklahoma's Trey DiCarlo.

Siegel, a junior, connected on 20 of 24 field goals and 49 of 50 extra points last season. With two years of eligibility remaining, Siegel already holds the school record for career PATs (100) and most consecutive field goals made (15).

Kickers on the list were chosen based on statistics from last season, but all Division I-A kickers are eligible for the award.

The award is voted on by a panel of over 300 experts, including coaches, sportswriters and sportscasters, conference representatives, professional kickers and all previous Groza finalists.

The 20 semifinalists will be announced on November 3 with the three finalists to be named two weeks later on November 17.

Now in its 12th year, the award is named for NFL Hall of Fame kicker Lou Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns.


On the Net:


This story is from ESPN.com's automated news wire. Wire index