Hampton ends Maddux's string of Gold Gloves

Updated: November 5, 2003, 5:52 PM ET

NEW YORK -- Atlanta pitcher Mike Hampton ended Greg Maddux's record run of NL Gold Gloves while Luis Castillo and Derrek Lee of the World Series champion Florida Marlins won for the first time Wednesday.

Scott Rolen, Edgar Renteria, Jim Edmonds and Mike Matheny of the St. Louis Cardinals were among those honored for fielding excellence.

Outfielders Andruw Jones of Atlanta and Jose Cruz Jr. of San Francisco also were chosen. The awards are based on the regular season -- Cruz stumbled in the playoffs, falling on a fly ball in Game 2 against Florida and then dropping a routine fly that led to the Giants' extra-inning loss in Game 3.

Maddux had won 13 straight times, the most by an NL pitcher and three short of the overall record for pitchers set by Jim Kaat. Hampton beat out his Braves teammate in winning for the first time.

Hampton made one error in 68 chances while Maddux had two mistakes in 73 chances.

Castillo replaced St. Louis' Fernando Vina at second base and Lee took over for Colorado's Todd Helton at first base.

Rolen won for the fourth straight time and earned his fifth award overall at third base. Edmonds was picked for the fourth time as an NL outfielder, adding to the three AL Gold Gloves he won with the Angels.

Matheny and Renteria each won for the second time.

Jones has won six straight NL Gold Gloves and Cruz was honored for the first time.

Gold Gloves, presented since 1957 by St. Louis-based Rawlings, are voted on by managers and coaches before the end of the regular season. They may not select players on their own teams, and they vote only for players in their own league.

This story is from ESPN.com's automated news wire. Wire index