Quigg stops Munyai to keep WBA super-bantam title

Updated: April 19, 2014, 8:40 PM ET
Associated Press

MANCHESTER, England -- Scott Quigg of Britain retained his WBA super-bantamweight title by stopping substitute Tshifhiwa Munyai of South Africa in the second round on Saturday.

Quigg dropped Munyai with a left in the opening round, and referee Howard Foster stopped the fight when Munyai was floored in the second minute of the second.

Quigg, who has held the title for 2½ years, improved to 30-0 (21 KO), while Munyai, who stepped in late when Nehomar Cermeno of Venezuela had visa problems, dropped to 24-2-1 (12 KO).


Copyright 2014 by The Associated Press

This story is from ESPN.com's automated news wire. Wire index

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.


ESPN TOP HEADLINES

MOST SENT STORIES ON ESPN.COM