Tour Down Under Results

Updated: January 26, 2013, 1:06 AM ET
Associated Press

ADELAIDE, Australia -- Results on Saturday from the 151.5km (95 mile) fifth stage of the six-stage Tour Down Under, from McLaren Vale to Old Wilunga Hill:

1. Simon Gerrans, Australia, Orica GreenEDGE, 3 hours, 36 minutes, 25 seconds.

2. Tom-Jelte Slagter, Netherlands, Blanco, same time.

3. Javier Moreno, Spain, Movistar, 10 seconds behind.

4. Ion Izagirre, Spain, Euskaltel-Euskadi, 12 seconds.

5. Tiago Pinto Machado, Portugal, Radioshack, 13 seconds.

6. Wilco Kelderman, Netherlands, Blanco, 16 seconds.

7. Gorka Izagirre, Spain, Euskalterl-Euskadi, same time.

8. Rafael Valls Ferri, Spain, Vacansoleil, same time.

9. Daniel pietropolli, Italy, Lampre-Merida, same time.

10. Ben Hermans, Belgium, Radioshack, same time.


103: Andy Schleck, Luxembourg, Radioshack, 12 minutes, 49 seconds.


General classification after five of six stages:

1. Tom-Jelte Slagter, Netherlands, Blanco, 16 hours, 35 minutes, 33 seconds.

2. Javier Moreno, Spain, Movistar, 13 seconds behind.

3. Ben Hermans, Belgium, Radioshack, 25 seconds.

4. Ion Izagirre, Spain, Euskaltel-Euskadi, 28 seconds.

5. Geraint Thomas, Britain, Sky, 29 seconds.

6. Tiago Pinto Machado, Portugal, Radioshack, same time.

7. Gorka Izagirre, Spain, Euskaltel-Euskadi, 32 seconds.

8. Daniele Pietropolli, Italy, Lampre-Merida, same time.

9. Wilco Kelderman, Netherlands, Blanco, same time.

10. Jussi Veikkanen, France, FDJ, 37 seconds.


127. Andy Schleck, Luxembourg, Radioshack, 39 minutes, 29 seconds.

Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index