NCAA Four of 16 Conferences

Updated: March 24, 2013, 11:20 PM ET
Associated Press

Conferences that have accounted for four or more of the Sweet 16 since the NCAA tournament field expanded to 64 teams in 1985 (x-reached Final Four; y-won national championship):

1985 -- ACC (Georgia Tech, Maryland, North Carolina, N.C. State); Big East (Boston College, x-Georgetown, x-St. John's, y-Villanova)

1986 -- ACC (x-Duke, Georgia Tech, North Carolina, N.C. State); SEC (Alabama, Auburn, Kentucky, x-LSU)

1989 -- ACC (x-Duke, North Carolina, N.C. State, Virginia); Big Ten (x-Illinois, Indiana, y-Michigan, Minnesota)

1990 -- ACC (Clemson, x-Duke, x-Georgia Tech, North Carolina)

1992 -- ACC (y-Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech, North Carolina)

1993 -- ACC (Florida State, y-North Carolina, Virginia, Wake Forest)

1995 -- ACC (Maryland, x-North Carolina, Virginia, Wake Forest)

1996 -- SEC (Arkansas, Georgia, y-Kentucky, x-Mississippi State)

1997 -- Pac-10 (y-Arizona, California, Stanford, UCLA)

1998 -- Pac-10 (Arizona, x-Stanford, UCLA, Washington)

1999 -- Big Ten (Iowa, x-Michigan State, x-Ohio State, Purdue)

2001 -- Pac-10 (Arizona, Southern Cal, Stanford, UCLA)

2002 -- Big 12 (x-Kansas, Missouri, x-Oklahoma, Texas)

2003 -- Big East (Connecticut, Notre Dame, Pittsburgh, y-Syracuse)

2006 -- Big East (Connecticut, Georgetown, Villanova, West Virginia)

2009 -- Big East (x-Connecticut, Louisville, Pittsburgh, Syracuse, x-Villanova)

2012 -- Big East (Cincinnati, x-Louisville, Marquette, Syracuse); Big Ten (Indiana, Michigan State, x-Ohio State, Wisconsin)

2013 -- Big Ten (Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State)

Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index