Chuck Bednarik Award Winners

Updated: December 12, 2013, 9:27 PM ET
Associated Press

Winners of the Chuck Bednarik Award for the outstanding collegiate defensive player:

2013-Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh

2012-Manti Te'o, Notre Dame

2011-Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

2010-Patrick Peterson, LSU

2009-Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska

2008-Rey Maualuga, Southern California

2007-Dan Connor, Penn State

2006-Paul Posluszny, Penn State

2005-Paul Posluszny, Penn State

2004-David Pollack, Georgia

2003-Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma

2002-E.J. Henderson, Maryland

2001-Julius Peppers, North Carolina

2000-Dan Morgan, Miami

1999-LaVar Arrington, Penn State

1998-Dat Nguyen, Texas A&M

1997-Charles Woodson, Michigan

1996-Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern

1995-Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern

Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.