NFL Comeback Player of the Year

Updated: February 1, 2014, 6:48 PM ET
Associated Press

The NFL Comeback Player of the Year as awarded by The Associated Press and selected by a nationwide media panel:

2013 -- Philip Rivers, QB, San Diego

2012 -- Peyton Manning, QB, Denver

2011 -- Matthew Stafford, QB, Detroit

2010 -- Michael Vick, QB, Philadelphia

2009 -- Tom Brady, QB, New England

2008 -- Chad Pennington, QB, Miami

2007 -- Greg Ellis, LB, Dallas

2006 -- Chad Pennington, QB, New York Jets

2005 -- Steve Smith, WR, Carolina; Tedy Bruschi, New England

2004 -- Drew Brees, QB, San Diego

2003 -- Jon Kitna, QB, Cincinnati

2002 -- Tommy Maddox, QB, Pittsburgh

2001 -- Garrison Hearst, RB, San Francisco

2000 -- Joe Johnson, DE, New Orleans

1999 -- Bryant Young, DT, San Francisco

1998 -- Doug Flutie, QB, Buffalo

Copyright 2014 by The Associated Press

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.