Updated: May 22, 2013, 11:58 AM ET
Associated Press

All Times EDT



Site: Indianapolis.

Schedule: Friday, Carb Day, including Firestone Freedom 100 Indy Lights race (NBC Sports Network, 11 a.m.-4 p.m.); Sunday, race, noon (ABC, 11 a.m.-3:30 p.m.).

Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (oval, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 500 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Dario Franchitti won the race for the third time. The Chip Ganassi Racing driver won a last-lap fight with Takuma Sato, their tires briefly touching to send Sato spinning hard into the wall. Ganassi teammate Scott Dixon finished second.

Last race: Andretti Autosport's James Hinchcliffe won the Sao Paulo 300 on May 5 for his second victory of the year, passing Sato on the final turn.

Fast facts: Ed Carpenter, the stepson of IndyCar founder Tony George, took the pole Saturday in a car he owns himself. Carpenter had a four-lap average of 228.762 mph. Andretti Autosport drivers Carlos Munoz, Marco Andretti and E.J. Viso took the next three spots. ... Franchitti and Team Penske's Helio Castroneves are trying to tie the race record of four victories shared by A.J. Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears. Castroneves qualified eighth, and Franchitti 17th. ... The race was first run in 1911.

Next races: Chevrolet Indy Dual, June 1 and 2, The Raceway at Belle Isle Park, Detroit.





Site: Concord, N.C.

Schedule: Thursday, practice (Speed, 3:30-5 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 7-8:30 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Speed, 10-11 a.m., 1-2 p.m.); Sunday, race, 6 p.m. (FOX, 5:30-10:30 p.m.).

Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 600 miles, 400 laps.

Last year: Kasey Kahne won NASCAR's longest race for the third time for his first victory for Hendrick Motorsports. Denny Hamlin was second.

Last week: Jimmie Johnson won the All-Star race at the track for the record fourth time. He also joined the late Davey Allison as only drivers to win two years in a row.

Fast facts: Johnson has six Charlotte victories in points races. The five-time series champion won five times in a six-race stretch -- taking the 2003 Coca-Cola 600 and sweeping the spring and fall races in 2004 and 2005 -- and won the 2009 fall race. Johnson has two victories this season -- at Daytona and Martinsville -- and leads the season standings, 44 points ahead of Carl Edwards. ... Jeff Gordon won the 1994 race for his first Cup victory. He also won in 1997 and 1998 and has two Charlotte fall victories. ... Clint Bowyer won the October race at the track. ... Darrell Waltrip won the race a record five times.

Next race: FedEx 400, June 2, Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.





Site: Concord, N.C.

Schedule: Thursday, practice (Speed, 1-3:30 p.m., 5-6:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 11 a.m.-noon), race, 2:45 p.m. (ABC, 2:30-5:30 p.m.).

Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Brad Keselowski raced to the first of his three 2012 series victories, leading the final 67 laps.

Last race: Kyle Busch won at Darlington on May 10 for his fifth victory of the year and record 56th in the series. Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Elliott Sadler was second.

Fast facts: Talladega winner Regan Smith leads the series standings, 28 points ahead of Sam Hornish Jr. ... Michael Annett is racing for the first time since breaking and dislocating his sternum in the season-opening race at Daytona. ... Joey Logano won in October at the track.

Next race: 5-Hour Energy 200, June 1, Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.




Next race: Lucas Oil 200, May 31, Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.

Last week: Kyle Busch won at Charlotte Motor Speedway for his 31st career Truck Series win and fifth at the track. Brendan Gaughan was second.





Site: Monte Carlo, Monaco.

Schedule: Thursday (NBC Sports Network, 8-9:30 a.m.); Friday, practice (NBC Sports Network, 1:30-3 a.m.; Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 8-9:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (NBC, 7:30-10 a.m.; NBC Sports Network, 10 a.m.-1:30 p.m.).

Track: Circuit de Monaco (street course, 2.075 miles).

Race distance: 161.9 miles, 78 laps.

Last year: Red Bull's Mark Webber won the first of his two 2012 victories. Mercedes' Nico Rosberg was second, and Ferrari's Fernando Alonso finished third.

Last race: Alonso raced to his second victory of the year, winning the Spanish Grand Prix on May 12 in front of his home fans. Lotus' Kimi Raikkonen was second.

Fast facts: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel, the three-time defending series champion, leads the season standings -- four points ahead of Raikkonen. Vettel has two victories in the first five races of the year, winning in Malaysia and Bahrain.

Next race: Canadian Grand Prix, June 9, Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal.




Next event: NHRA Summernationals, May 30-June 2, Old Bridge Township Raceway Park, Englishtown, N.J.

Last week: Johnny Gray won the Kansas Nationals for third Funny Car victory of the season. Shawn Langdon won in Top Fuel, and Jeg Coughlin topped the Pro Stock field.




WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Friday, Outlaw Showdown, The Dirt Track at Charlotte, Concord, N.C.; Monday, Lawrenceburg Speedway, Lawrenceburg, Ind. Late Model: Buckeye 50, Friday, NAPA Wayne County Speedway, Orrville, Ohio; Jackpot 100, Saturday-Sunday, Tyler County Speedway, Middlebourne, W.Va. Online:

U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Silver Crown: Hoosier Hundred, Thursday, Indiana State Fairgrounds, Indianapolis. Online:

Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index