Gamera-Shmyrko wins Osaka Women's Marathon

Updated: January 26, 2014, 6:15 AM ET
Associated Press

OSAKA, Japan -- Ukraine's Tetyana Gamera-Shmyrko won the Osaka Women's Marathon for the second straight year on Sunday, pulling away from Japan's Yukiko Akaba with five kilometers remaining.

Gamera-Shmyrko clocked a time of 2 hours, 24 minutes, 37 seconds to finish ahead of Akaba, who had a time of 2:26:00 in her last race before retiring. Karolina Jarzynska of Poland was third in 2:26:31.

Japan's Sairi Maeda produced a fourth-place finish on her marathon debut with a time of 2:26:46.

Athens Olympic marathon champion Mizuki Noguchi last week pulled out of the race for the third year in a row due to a stress fracture in her left thighbone.

Copyright 2014 by The Associated Press

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.