Rebekkah Brunson back for more

Rocky Widner/NBAE/Getty Images

Rebekkah Brunson, who won her first WNBA title in her second pro season in Sacramento, is averaging 10.6 points and 8.9 rebounds this year for Minnesota.

On this day in 2005, the Sacramento Monarchs won their first and only WNBA title by defeating the Connecticut Sun 62-59 in Game 4. Yolanda Griffith, who averaged 18.5 points in the finals, was named the MVP. But the Monarchs, one of the league’s original eight franchises, folded in 2009. One player from their championship roster is still going strong today. Rebekkah Brunson, who was selected by the Minnesota Lynx in the dispersal draft, started all eight postseason contests in 2005, tallying 6.9 points and 5.5 rebounds per game. After helping lead the Lynx to the 2011 WNBA title, she’ll be back looking for a third starting tonight when Minnesota hosts Seattle in Game 1 of their Western Conference semifinals.

Tell us what you think!

We need your feedback to continue to make great - please take a few minutes to share your thoughts. Just click the link below to get started.

Take the survey »

As a thank you for your participation, you will be entered into a drawing for a chance to win a $100 American Express gift card. These rules apply.

Thanks for visiting today.