Placement questions dog Indonesia Open

Updated: May 6, 2005, 2:31 PM ET

LONDON -- With continuing controversy over Colin Montgomerie's ball placement at the Indonesia Open, he has decided to donate his prize money from the event to the Tsunami Appeal fund.

Montgomerie was cleared of any breach of procedure at the tournament in March, following a complaint by Soren Kjeldsen, one of his playing partners at the time.

After watching television footage of the incident, Kjeldsen and others claimed Montgomerie played from the wrong spot when he returned to the course the next day to resume a round interrupted by a thunderstorm.

Montgomerie said on Friday that he was sufficiently concerned about the matter to donate his fourth-place prize money of $40,000.

"During the second round, my ball came to rest beside a greenside bunker on the 14th when play was called off for the day due to a thunderstorm," Montgomerie said.

"In my haste to avoid the storm, I left the ball there and did not mark it. Unfortunately, when I returned the next morning, the ball was no longer there.

"I replaced my ball as close as I could to where I thought I had left it and even took the precaution of checking with both my playing partners.

"Following questions raised by a couple of my fellow pros, who saw the footage, the European Tour looked into their questions without my knowledge or involvement and ruled there had been no infringement.

"However, I was sufficiently concerned about the situation to ask if I could review the footage on returning from the Johnnie Walker Classic and BMW Asian Open.

"I was not comfortable with what I saw and feel I may have replaced the ball inaccurately, albeit unwittingly.

"I am obviously upset that I could have inadvertently caused my colleagues to question me, and with this in mind, I will be making a donation of all my prize money towards the European Tour Tsunami Fund."

European Tour chief referee John Paramor said: "The decision taken by the tournament director at the Indonesia Open is not being questioned, and that decision stands as final."

Paramor also cleared Montgomerie of any indiscretion when it had been suggested he played a moving ball during the 2002 Volvo Masters, a title Montgomerie went on to share with Bernhard Langer.