Cink, Johnson to represent U.S. in World Cup


Stewart Cink, a four-time PGA Tour champion and member of the winning side in the recent Presidents Cup, will team will Zach Johnson in this year's WGC-Algarve World Cup.

The 18 exempt nations, along with players representing host nation Portugal were announced on Monday.

The $4-million event featuring two-man teams from 24 nations around the world will be held Nov. 15-20 at Victoria Clube de Golfe-Vilamoura in the Algarve region of Portugal.

England is the defending champions, although their lineup will change. Last year, Luke Donald and Paul Casey earned the trophy, while this year Donald will be joined by David Howell, the 19th-ranked player in the world.

Spain, represented by Sergio Garcia and Miguel Angel Jimenez, the 6th and 28th-ranked players in the Official World Golf Ranking respectively, will be looking to win the event for the fifth time in the event's 52-year history. Last year, the duo came up one stroke short, finishing runner-up to England in their home country.

Presidents Cup teammates Tim Clark and Trevor Immelman of South Africa will attempt to win South Africa's third title in this event in the last five years. In 2001 Ernie Els and Retief Goosen teamed up to win the John Hopkins Trophy, while in 2003 Immelman teamed with Rory Sabbatini.

Players qualified for this year's World Cup by virtue of their standings in the Official World Golf Ranking as of Sept. 19. The highest-ranked available players representing 18 countries automatically qualified for the event.

The host nation of Portugal will be represented by Jose-Filippe Lima and Antonio Sobrinho. This will mark Portugal's first appearance in the event since it became a part of the World Golf Championships series in 2000.

The following are the 19 exempt nations listed alphabetically:

Argentina: Angel Cabrera/Ricardo Gonzalez
Australia: Mark Hensby/Peter Lonard
Denmark: Anders Hansen/Soren Hansen
England: Luke Donald/David Howell
France: Thomas Levet/Raphael Jacquelin
Germany: Alex Cejka/Marcel Siem
Holland: Maarten Lafeber/Robert-Jan Derksen
India : Jyoti Randhawa/Arjun Atwal
Ireland: Padraig Harrington/Paul McGinley
Japan: Yasuharo Imano/partner to be announced
Paraguay: Carlos Franco/Marco Ruiz
Portugal: Jose-Filipe Lima/Antonio Sobrinho
Scotland: Stephen Gallacher/Scott Drummond
South Africa: Tim Clark/Trevor Immelman
South Korea: K.J. Choi/partner to be announced
Spain : Sergio Garcia/Miguel Angel Jimenez
Sweden: Henrik Stenson/Niclas Fasth
United States: Stewart Cink/Zach Johnson
Wales : Stephen Dodd/Bradley Dredge

The final five teams will be determined this week at Nations Cup qualifiers in Mexico and Malaysia. The qualifier in Mexico will be held Oct. 5-8 at El Tigre Golf Club in Vallarta Nayarit. There are three spots available from the site.

Kota Permai Golf & Country Club in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia will host a qualifying tournament on Oct. 6-9 and will offer two spots.