Tiger clinches eighth PGA Player of the Year award

Updated: September 5, 2006, 6:46 PM ET
Associated Press

 Tiger Woods
NORTON, Mass. -- Along with his fifth straight victory, Tiger Woods captured another prize at the Deutsche Bank Championship. His seventh victory of the year was enough for him to mathematically clinch PGA Player of the Year.

Woods now has won the PGA of America's award eight times in his 10 full years on the PGA Tour. The only two times he did not win the points-based award was in 1998 when Mark O'Meara won two majors, and in 2004 when Vijay Singh won nine times.

Players receive 30 points for winning a major, 20 points for The Players Championship and 10 points for every other PGA Tour victory, with a 50-point bonus for winning two majors. As many as 20 points are awarded on a sliding scale for the scoring average and money list.

Longest PGA win streaks
Player Wins Year
Byron Nelson 11 '45
Ben Hogan 6 '48
Tiger Woods 6 '99-00
Tiger Woods 6 '06
Byron Nelson 4 '45-46
Jack Burke Jr. 4 '52
Ben Hogan 4 '53

With only nine tournaments left in the season, no one can catch Woods. His next two PGA Tour events: the WGC-American Express Championship and the Tour Championship.

Woods also has a commanding lead in the race for the Vardon Trophy for lowest scoring average at 68.30. Jim Furyk is second at 69.06.

But whether he wins that award for the seventh time in his career might depend on his schedule. Because he missed the cut at the U.S. Open and withdrew after two rounds of the Nissan Open with the flu, Woods has played only 51 rounds this year. Unless he plays Disney, he would be four rounds short of the 60 minimum required to win the Vardon Trophy.

The PGA Tour award for lowest scoring average -- the Byron Nelson Trophy -- requires only 50 rounds.

Copyright 2006 by The Associated Press