Gatorade Cross Country Runners of the Year


In its 25th anniversary year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, the Gatorade Company, in conjunction with ESPN RISE, announced its 2009-10 State Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year award-winners, representing the 50 states and the District of Columbia. The award recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the racecourse. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, click here.

Gatorade Boys Cross Country Runners of the Year

Alabama: Carmen Carlos, McGill-Toolen Catholic (Mobile, Ala.)

Alaska: Kailey Wilson, Kenny Lake School (Copper Center, Alaska) | Read more

Arizona: Jessica Tonn, Xavier College Prep. (Phoenix, Ariz.) | Read more

Arkansas: Erika Setzler, Conway (Conway, Ark.)

California: Molly Grabill, Rancho Bernardo (San Diego, Calif.)

Colorado: Kelsey Lakowske, Boulder (Boulder, Colo.)

Connecticut: Lauren Sara, Frank Scott Bunnell (Stratford, Conn.)

Delaware: Haley Pierce, The Tatnall School (Wilmington, Del.) | Read more

District of Columbia: Marisa Repka, Sidwell Friends School (Washington, D.C.)

Florida: Kathryn Fluehr, The Community School of Naples (Naples, Fla.)

Georgia: Nicky Akande, Collins Hill (Suwanee, Ga.) | Read more

Hawaii: Elli Brady, Punahou School (Honolulu, Hawaii)

Idaho: Kinsey Gomez, Coeur d'Alene (Coeur d'Alene, Idaho)

Illinois: Lavinia Jurkiewicz, Whitney M. Young Magnet (Chicago, Ill.)

Indiana: Waverly Neer, Culver Academies (Culver, Ind.)

Iowa: Katie Flood, Dowling Catholic (West Des Moines, Iowa) | Read more

Kansas: Avery Clifton, Washburn Rural (Topeka, Kan.)

Kentucky: Emma Brink, Sacred Heart Academy (Louisville, Ky.)

Louisiana: Malia Cali, St. Thomas Aquinas (Hammond, La.)

Maine: Abbey Leonardi, Kennebunk (Kennebunk, Maine)

Maryland: Jessie Rubin, Thomas S. Wootton (Rockville, Md.)

Massachusetts: Andrea Keklak, Lincoln-Sudbury Regional (Sudbury, Mass.)

Michigan: Megan Goethals, Rochester (Rochester Hills, Mich.) | Read more

Minnesota: Maria Hauger, Shakopee (Shakopee, Minn.)

Mississippi: Cory McGee, Pass Christian (Pass Christian, Miss.)

Missouri: Emily Sisson, Parkway Central (Chesterfield, Mo.) | Read more

Montana: Heidi Turner, Bozeman (Bozeman, Mont.) | Read more

Nebraska: Aubree Worden, Scottsbluff (Scottsbluff, Neb.)

Nevada: Kelsey Smith, South Tahoe (South Lake Tahoe, Calif.)*

New Hampshire: Heidi Caldwell, Hanover (Hanover, N.H.)

New Jersey: Chelsea Ley, Kingsway Regional (Swedesboro, N.J.)

New Mexico: Julia Foster, Albuquerque Academy (Albuquerque, N.M.)

New York: Aisling Cuffe, Cornwall Central (New Windsor, N.Y.)

North Carolina: Wesley Frazier, Ravenscroft School (Raleigh, N.C.)

North Dakota: Tarin Lachowitzer, Fargo South (Fargo, N.D.)

Ohio: Madeline Chambers, Magnificat (Rocky River, Ohio)

Oklahoma: Jori Davis, Piedmont (Piedmont, Okla.)

Oregon:Annamarie Maag, Jesuit (Portland, Ore.)

Pennsylvania: Sara Sargent, Pennsbury (Fairless Hills, Pa.)

Rhode Island: Abigail Jones, Barrington (Barrington, R.I.)

South Carolina: Sinead Haughey, Daniel (Central, S.C.) | Read more

South Dakota: Madeleine Takahashi, Sturgis Brown (Sturgis, S.D.)

Tennessee: Megan Ferowich, Knoxville Catholic (Knoxville, Tenn.)

Texas: Chelsey Sveinsson, Greenhill School (Addison, Texas) | Read more

Utah: Gillian Gorelik, Park City (Park City, Utah)

Vermont Hannah Rowe, St. Johnsbury Academy (St. Johnsbury, Vt.)

Virginia: Kathleen Stevens, Blacksburg (Blacksburg, Va.) Read more

Washington: Amy-Eloise Neale, Glacier Peak (Snohomish, Wash.)

West Virginia: Alex Dent, Hurricane (Hurricane, W.Va.)

Wisconsin: Marya Haegler, Winnebago Lutheran Academy (Fond du Lac, Wis.)

Wyoming: Dana Morin, Sheridan (Sheridan, Wyo.)

*South Tahoe, located seven miles from the Nevada border in rural California, competes solely against Nevada schools and the school's athletes are only eligible for Nevada postseason honors. The Vikings athletic program has won multiple Nevada state titles in a variety of sports.