Discussion

Ref blunder leads to 2-goal swing

Updated: November 16, 2010, 1:22 AM ET
Associated Press

SAN JOSE, Calif. -- A refereeing mistake led to a two-goal swing in the Los Angeles Kings' game against the San Jose Sharks.

With San Jose leading 3-1 late in the second period Monday night, the officials failed to see Ryan Smyth had clearly scored for the Kings. San Jose's Marc-Edouard Vlasic retrieved the puck from inside the net, and the officials allowed play to continue while Smyth and his teammates briefly celebrated.

The teams kept playing until Torrey Mitchell scored a breakaway ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

EDITORS' PICKS

  • Bruins Look To Rebound
    After back-to-back losses to ranked opponents, UCLA looks to get back on track against Alabama.

MORE NHL HEADLINES