Red Sox LF Ramirez wins ninth Silver Slugger award

Updated: November 10, 2006, 8:01 PM ET
Associated Press

LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- Boston left fielder Manny Ramirez won his ninth Silver Slugger on Friday, while New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter and New York Mets center fielder Carlos Beltran were among 13 first-time winners.

Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano and Mets shortstop Jose Reyes also earned the honor, given to the top offensive performer at each position, for the first time.

Ramirez, who has won for eight straight seasons, is tied for third with Barry Larkin in ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?