Holdovers McGwire, Rice, Gossage again on Hall ballot

Updated: November 27, 2007, 1:04 PM ET
Associated Press

NEW YORK -- Tim Raines and David Justice head 11 first-time candidates on the baseball writers' 2008 Hall of Fame ballot, joining Mark McGwire, Rich Gossage, Jim Rice and 11 other holdovers.

McGwire, his candidacy hurt by suspicions of steroids use, was selected on just 23.5 percent of ballots when he was eligible for the first time in 2007.

When Cal Ripken Jr. and Tony Gwynn were elected in January, Gossage fell 21 votes shy of the necessary 75 percent and Rice was 63 ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?