Discussion

Berkman gains a hit on scoring change

Updated: May 3, 2009, 3:10 PM ET
Associated Press

ATLANTA -- Houston's Lance Berkman has been awarded a hit on a play initially ruled an error on Atlanta third baseman Chipper Jones.

Braves official scorer Jack Wilkinson said he changed his ruling Sunday after reviewing the seventh-inning play in the Astros' 5-1 win on Saturday.

With two outs, Berkman hit a grounder that took a bad hop before Jones could field the ball. The next batter, Carlos Lee, popped out to third base to end the inning. The revised ruling left Berkman, who hit ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

ALSO SEE

MORE MLB HEADLINES