And Cameron makes four; Mussina wins sixth

Updated: November 6, 2003, 2:53 PM ET news services

NEW YORK -- Seattle Mariners outfielders Ichiro Suzuki and Mike Cameron and Mariners infielders Bret Boone and John Olerud won AL Gold Gloves on Tuesday.

All nine winners had previously earned the honor for fielding excellence. There were seven repeat winners from last season -- New York Yankees pitcher Mike Mussina and Cameron rejoined the list this year.

Texas Rangers shortstop Alex Rodriguez, Oakland A's third baseman Eric Chavez, Minnesota Twins outfielder Torii Hunter and Anaheim Angels catcher Bengie Molina also were chosen.

The NL winners will be announced Wednesday.

Gold Gloves, presented since 1957 by St. Louis-based Rawlings, are voted on by managers and coaches before the end of the regular season. They may not select players on their own teams, and they vote only for players in their own league.

Mussina won for the sixth time overall. Last year, Texas pitcher Kenny Rogers was picked.

Cameron won for the second time, replacing Anaheim's Darin Erstad in the outfield. Suzuki and Hunter each won for the third straight season.

Olerud won at first base for the third time. Boone won his third AL Gold Glove at second base -- he also got one with the Cincinnati Reds in 1998.

A-Rod won for the second straight season. Last year, he broke Omar Vizquel's string of nine consecutive Gold Gloves.

Chavez was picked for his third Gold Glove and Molina won his second in a row.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.