Randy Johnson won last four Spahns

GUTHRIE, Okla. --New York Yankee Andy Pettitte is the winner of this year's Warren Spahn Award, an annual prize for the best left-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball.

Pettitte, who pitched a combination of the most wins, lowest ERA
and most strikeouts, will receive the award from the Oklahoma
Sports Museum on Dec. 2.

Spahn, 82, had 363 Major League wins, the most ever for a lefty.
The award is a 2-foot bronze statue of Spahn.

Pettitte, 31, was an anchor of the Yankee rotation in winning
149 games since his Yankee debut in 1995. He won 21 games with an
ERA of 4.02 and 180 strikeouts in the 2003 regular season.

After the World Series, he was 24-9 with 214 strike outs.
Pettitte is the only pitcher since 1961 to win at least 12 games in
each of his first nine seasons.

Pettitte is 13-8 in postseason play to lead Major League
Baseball in postseason wins as a starter. Atlanta Braves' John
Smoltz has 13 postseason wins, but one of his wins was in relief.

Arizona Diamondbacks' Randy Johnson received the Spahn award the
last four years.

Though Pettitte has not announced his move for free agency officially, the Yankees left-hander is expected to test the market. Becasue he has not yet filed, the Yankees remain the only team allowed to negotiate with Pettitte until Nov. 10.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.