BoSox Ramirez wins seventh award

Originally Published: November 2, 2004
Associated Press

LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- San Francisco Giants outfielder Barry Bonds extended his own record Tuesday by winning his 12th Silver Slugger award, given to the top offensive players at their positions in each league.

AL Silver Slugger Team
(Chosen by managers, coaches)
1B Mark Teixeira Rangers
2B Alfonso Soriano Rangers
SS Miguel Tejada Orioles
3B Melvin Mora Orioles
OF Manny Ramirez Red Sox
OF Gary Sheffield Yankees
OF Vladimir Guerrero Angels
C (tie) Ivan Rodriguez
Victor Martinez
DH David Ortiz Red Sox

For the first time since the awards began in 1980, there was a tie at one position, with Detroit's Ivan Rodriguez and Cleveland's Victor Martinez sharing the honor as the top-hitting AL catcher. It was the seventh award for Rodriguez, the first for Martinez.

In the AL outfield, Boston's Manny Ramirez won his seventh Silver Slugger, Anaheim's Vladimir Guerrero his fourth and the New York Yankees' Gary Sheffield his third. Texas second baseman
Alfonso Soriano won for the second time.

NL Silver Slugger Team
(Chosen by managers, coaches)
1B Albert Pujols Cardinals
2B Mark Loretta Padres
SS Jack Wilson Pirates
3B Adrian Beltre Dodgers
OF Barry Bonds Giants
OF Jim Edmonds Cardinals
OF Bobby Abreu Phillies
C Johnny Estrada Braves
P Livan Hernandez Expos

Texas first baseman Mark Teixeira, Baltimore shortstop Miguel Tejada and third baseman Melvin Mora and Boston designated hitter David Ortiz were first-time winners in the AL.

St. Louis first baseman Albert Pujols won for the third time in the NL, where there were seven first-time winners: San Diego second baseman Mark Loretta, Pittsburgh shortstop Jack Wilson, Los Angeles third baseman Adrian Beltre, St. Louis outfielder Jim Edmonds, Philadelphia outfielder Bobby Abreu, Atlanta catcher Johnny Estrada and Montreal pitcher Livan Hernandez.

Guerrero, Ramirez, Rodriguez and Tejada earned bonuses of $100,000 each, while Abreu, Bonds, Edmonds, Mora and Pujols earned $50,000 apiece. Hernandez and Loretta each get $25,000.

Winners were picked by major league managers and coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own players. Selections were based on a combination of offensive statistics, such as batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as general impressions of a player's offensive value.

The awards are given by Hillerich & Bradsby Co., the maker of Louisville Slugger bats.

Copyright 2004 by The Associated Press