Lyle, Kaat, Tiant added to list

Updated: December 7, 2004, 12:39 PM ET
Associated Press

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. -- Gil Hodges, Tony Oliva and Ron Santo headline the 25 candidates on the 2005 ballot for the Hall of Fame Veterans Committee.

Sparky Lyle, Jim Kaat, Luis Tiant and Smoky Joe Wood have been added to the ballot this year.

In its first vote two years ago, the reconstituted committee failed to give any of the candidates the necessary 75 percent vote needed for election.

Hodges, the former Brooklyn first baseman and New York Mets manager, was listed on 50 ballots, falling 11 votes shy. Oliva was second among the 26 listed players with 48 votes, followed by Santo (46), Joe Torre (29), Maury Wills (24) and Vada Pinson (21).

Allie Reynolds (16), Ken R. Williams (eight), Bob Meusel (six), Ted Kluszewski (four) and Mike G. Marshall (three) have been removed from the ballot this time.

Candidates were selected by a committee selected by the Baseball Writers' Association of America and second screening committee of six Hall of Fame members. Results of voting will be announced March 2.

Eighty-five people are eligible to vote, including the 60 living Hall of Famers, 10 members of the writers wing and 14 members of the broadcasters wing. There also is one member of the former Veterans Committee whose term has not expired.

Under the revamped rules, the committee votes every two years for players and every four years for a "composite" group that includes managers, executives and umpires. The composite group will not be voted on again until 2007 -- two years ago, when 60 votes were needed for election on that ballot, the highest totals went to umpire Doug Harvey (48), Dodgers owner Walter O'Malley (38) and union head Marvin Miller (35).

Wade Boggs, Darryl Strawberry and Willie McGee are among the top newcomers on the BBWAA's Hall of Fame ballot, and Ryne Sandberg, Bruce Sutter, Jim Rice, Andre Dawson and Rich Gossage head the returning players. Results of that election will be announced Jan. 4.

Players must be retired for five years to be eligible for the Hall, and they can appear on the BBWAA ballot for up to 15 years. If they aren't elected, they must wait at least one year before going on the Veterans ballot.

Winners will be inducted during ceremonies July 31.

Copyright 2004 by The Associated Press