Four crew chiefs selected

10/5/2009 - MLB

NEW YORK -- Gerry Davis, Dana DeMuth, Tim Tschida and Joe West have been selected as the umpire crew chiefs for the first round of the playoffs.

Davis will work the series between the Colorado Rockies and Philadelphia Phillies. His crew includes Bob Davidson, Jerry Meals, Ron Kulpa, Angel Hernandez and Tim Timmons, Major League Baseball said Monday.

DeMuth will handle the series between the Los Angeles Dodgers and St. Louis Cardinals with Brian O'Nora, Mike Everitt, Jeff Nelson, Ed Rapuano and Tony Randazzo.

Tschida's crew for the series for the New York Yankees against the Detroit Tigers or Minnesota Twins has Chuck Meriwether, Mark Wegner, Paul Emmel, Jim Joyce and Phil Cuzzi.

West's crew includes CB Bucknor, Eric Cooper, Greg Gibson, Brian Gorman and Dan Iassogna. They will work the series between the Los Angeles Angels and Boston Red Sox.

Randy Marsh has the plate for Tuesday's AL Central tiebreaker between Detroit and Minnesota. The crew includes Dale Scott (first base), Jerry Layne (second), Gary Cederstrom (third), Fieldin Culbreth (left field) and Bruce Dreckman (right).