Tigers 3

(13-14, 4-11 away)

Nationals 2

(12-15, 8-5 home)

    1:05 PM ET, March 30, 2009

    Space Coast Stadium, Melbourne, Florida 

    123456789 R H E
    DET 003000000 3 - -
    WAS 200000000 2 - -

    Tigers 3, Nationals 2

    Associated Press

    VIERA, Fla. -- Armando Galarraga struck out nine in five innings, Clete Thomas and Ryan Raburn homered and the Detroit Tigers beat the Washington Nationals 3-2 on Monday.

    Galarraga allowed two runs and two hits while walking one.

    "I thought he was very sharp," Tigers manger Jim Leyland said. "He used his pitches extremely well, and he looked very comfortable doing it."

    Trailing 2-0, Raburn homered off Shairon Martis leading off the third inning. Brent Clevlen followed with a single then Thomas connected for a two-run shot.

    Martis pitched 4 1-3 innings, allowing three runs and four hits with five strikeouts and a walk.

    A day after being named Washington's No. 4 starter, Martis struggled with his control, throwing 94 pitches, 60 for strikes.

    "He had a lot of deep counts. He was trying to be too fine earlier in the game and ran up a lot of 3-2 counts," Nationals manager Manny Acta said. "After the second inning he was little more aggressive and threw the ball OK."

    Brandon Lyon, Fernando Rodney, Juan Rincon and Ryan Perry each pitched a scoreless inning for the Tigers.

    Joe Beimel pitched 1 2-3 scoreless innings for the Nationals, while Gary Glover, Jason Bergmann and Garrett Mock contributed a scoreless inning each.

    Ryan Zimmerman hit a two-run homer for the Nationals, his first of the spring in 47 at-bats.

    Game notes

    The Tigers acquired left-handed outfielder Josh Anderson in a trade with the Atlanta Braves for pitching prospect Rudy Darrow. ... The Nationals reassigned RHP Ryan Wagner to minor league camp. Wagner missed all of 2008 after shoulder surgery in June 2007.

    Copyright by STATS LLC and The Associated Press


    Game Information

    StadiumSpace Coast Stadium, Melbourne, FL
    UmpiresHome - Lance Barksdale, First Base - Adrian Johnson, Second Base - Bill Hohn, Third Base - Gary Cederstrom