Discussion

Amnesty Clause FAQ

Updated: August 15, 2005, 9:18 AM ET
By Marc Stein | ESPN.com

You've heard about the NBA's new "amnesty" clause.

Now you want to know how it works.

Herewith, then, is an FAQ to explain every aspect of the rule.

Q: What is the amnesty clause?

A: This new provision grants teams a one-time exception to waive a player without paying any further luxury tax on the player's contract, regardless of how long or how rich the contract is.

Q: What is the deadline for capitalizing on this ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

ALSO SEE

MORE NBA HEADLINES