Stojakovic takes second in voting

MILAN, Italy -- Dallas Mavericks star forward Dirk Nowitzki again was voted European Player of the Year on Friday by La Gazzetta dello Sport, a prestigious Italian newspaper.

In 2003, Nowitzki was named to his second NBA All-Star team and
led the Mavericks to their first appearance in the Western
Conference finals in 15 years. However, he was unable to lift
Germany to an Olympic berth in the European Championships in

The 2002 winner, Nowitzki received 132 points,
outpolling Sacramento Kings forward Peja Stojakovic of Serbia and
Montenegro, who received 103 points.

Stojakovic also played in his second NBA All-Star team and
defended his title in the Shootout at All-Star Weekend. He
played for Serbia in Eurobasket 2003 but sat out a portion of the
tournament with an ankle injury.

Compatriot Dejan Bodiroga, who plays for FC Barcelona and is
regarded as the best player in Europe, was third with 57 points.

San Antonio Spurs guard Tony Parker of France was fifth with 33
points. Parker won an NBA championship with the Spurs but was
part of a French squad that finished a disappointing fourth at
Eurobasket 2003, missing out on an Olympic berth.