CWS title will return to storied program

LSU, Texas bring long NCAA baseball histories to Game 3 of CWS finals

Updated: August 6, 2009, 4:15 PM ET
By Mark Schlabach | ESPN.com

OMAHA, Neb. -- LSU and Texas have combined to win the College World Series 11 times.

The Tigers were the dominant college baseball team of the 1990s, winning five national championships from 1991 to 2000. The Longhorns have been better recently, winning CWS titles in 2002 and 2005.

On Wednesday night, one of the storied programs will win the national championship again.

Texas beat LSU 5-1 in the second game of the CWS championship series at Rosenblatt Stadium on Tuesday ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?