Jones anchored '64 national champs

Updated: July 3, 2004, 10:20 PM ET news services

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. -- The University of Arkansas announced Saturday that Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones will be inducted into the school's Sports Hall of Honor along with eight other former Razorbacks this September.

The other include five All-Americans and three all-conference selections. This year's honorees are former Arkansas football players Harry Jones, Wayne Martin, Jerry Jones and Brandon Burlsworth; basketball players Jerry Carlton, Lee Mayberry and Tracy Webb Rice; track and field standout Seneca Lassiter; and tennis player Peter Doohan.

Jones was the co-captain and starting guard for the 1964 national championship Razorbacks. The team went 11-0 that season, and defeated Nebraska in the Cotton Bowl.

The university said the group combined to win 20 All-America distinctions, 36 all-conference accolades and played a part in 13 individual or team national championships.

Honorees were elected to the UA Sports Hall of Honor by a vote of former letterwinners in conjunction with the "A" Club. Burlsworth was elected posthumously.

The honors will be presented Sept. 3 at the Northwest Arkansas Convention Center in Springdale.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.