Hockey East players dominate finalists

Updated: March 20, 2009, 3:31 AM ET
Associated Press

ST. PAUL, Minn. -- Four players from Hockey East schools are among 10 finalists for the 2009 Hobey Baker Award, honoring college hockey's top player.

The four are senior defenseman Matt Gilroy and sophomore forward Colin Wilson, both of Boston University; Vermont junior forward Viktor Stalberg; and Northeastern junior goalie Brad Thiessen.

Other finalists are Louie Caporusso, Michigan; Chad Johnson, Alaska Fairbanks; Zane Kalemba, Princeton; Jacques Lamoureux, Air Force; Jamie McBain, Wisconsin; and David McIntyre, Colgate.

The 10 were selected by Division I hockey head coaches and online fan balloting.

Three finalists will be announced on April 2, with the winner April 10 during the NCAA Frozen Four.

Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press