Coaches for the UA All-American Game

Originally Published: December 4, 2009
Scouts Inc.

White Team

Ted Marchibroda
Mitchell Layton/Getty ImagesTed Marchibroda helped lead the Buffalo Bills to consecutive AFC championships.
Head coach: Ted Marchibroda
He is a former quarterback (Pittsburgh Steelers and Chicago Cardinals) and head coach in the NFL. Marchibroda worked as an assistant for the Los Angeles Rams and was the offensive coordinator for the Washington Redskins before becoming the head coach of the Baltimore Colts from 1975-79. He served as the offensive coordinator for the Buffalo Bills from 1989-91, leading them to two Super Bowl appearances in 1990 and 1991. He returned to the Colts' organization as head coach of the Indianapolis Colts from 1992-95. He was also the first head coach of the Baltimore Ravens, guiding the team from 1996-98.

Offensive coordinator: Dave Levy
He was an assistant coach at USC from 1960-75, including four national championship teams (1962, 1967, 1972, 1974) and eight Rose Bowls. He later served as USC's assistant athletic director (1976-79). Then Levy was the offensive line coach for the San Diego Chargers (1980-96) before finishing his professional career with stops in the CFL (Calgary), NFL Europe (Amsterdam) and XFL (Los Angeles) from 1999-2003. He has worked with prominent players such as O.J. Simpson, Dan Fouts, Kellen Winslow and Barry Sanders.

Defensive coordinator: Rex Norris
He has accumulated 30 years of college and NFL coaching experience. Norris started off at Texas A&M before being hired by Barry Switzer at Oklahoma, where he served as a coach for 11 seasons. Norris produced seven first-team All-Americans and coached in eight bowl games at Oklahoma. After a stint at Arizona State, Norris made the switch to the NFL, joining the Detroit Lions (1985-87) before heading back to college with stops at Florida, Tennessee and Texas. He rounded out his coaching career with the Denver Broncos, Tennessee Titans and Chicago Bears. As defensive line coach in 2001, his Bears' defensive unit ranked No. 2 in the NFL in rushing yards per game.

Black Team

Sam Wyche
Rick Stewart/Getty ImagesSam Wyche will be coaching another Montana in this game.
Head coach: Sam Wyche
He was an NFL quarterback for the Washington Redskins, Detroit Lions, St. Louis Cardinals and Buffalo Bills. He played in Super Bowl VII with the Redskins. His coaching career began under Bill Walsh, where he directed the passing game for the San Francisco 49ers (1979-82), coaching Joe Montana to his first championship in Super Bowl XVI. He was the head coach at Indiana University for one season (1983) before becoming the head coach of the Cincinnati Bengals in 1984. That same year, Wyche invented the no-huddle offense, which helped him to eventually lead the Bengals to Super Bowl XXII and earn coach of the year honors in 1988. His tenure with the Bengals ended in 1991, but then he served as the head coach of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers from 1992-95.

Offensive coordinator: Larry Kennan
He is currently the executive director of the NFL Coaches Association. He was formerly the offensive coordinator for UNLV (1973-75) and Southern Methodist (1976-78) before being named the head coach of Lamar University in 1979. Kennan made the transition to the NFL in 1982, where he worked as the quarterbacks coach of the Los Angeles Raiders (1983-87) and the wide receivers coach for the Denver Broncos (1988). He served as the offensive coordinator for the Indianapolis Colts (1989-90) before being named the head coach of the London Monarchs of the World League of American Football, where he won the inaugural World Bowl. He returned to the NFL and served as the offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach of the Seattle Seahawks (1992-94). In 1995, he was the tight ends coach for the New Orleans Saints, but the next year he returned to Oakland as the quarterbacks coach before serving as the offensive coordinator for the New England Patriots under Pete Carroll.

Defensive coordinator: George Dyer
He has over 20 years of NFL coaching experience and last served as the defensive line coach for the Detroit Lions in 2003. Prior to the Lions, Dyer spent eight seasons (1995-2002) with the Denver Broncos as the defensive line coach and was assistant head coach in 2002. Dyer's defensive line units were instrumental in the Broncos' back-to-back championships in 1997 and 1998. Prior to arriving in Denver, Dyer spent three years (1992-94) with the Los Angeles Rams as defensive coordinator and defensive line coach. From 1983-91, Dyer served on the Seattle Seahawks' staff as defensive line coach. He began coaching in the NFL in 1982 with the Buffalo Bills after serving as the defensive coordinator for Arizona State (1980-81) and Michigan State (1977-79).

Special-teams coordinator (for both teams): Joe Avezzano
He is the lone three-time winner of the NFL Special Teams Coach of the Year. Prior to becoming a coach, he lined up at center for Florida State and played professionally in the AFL for the Boston Patriots (1966). Avezzano was an assistant coach at his alma mater and Iowa State before being named the offensive line coach for the University of Pittsburgh, where he helped lead the Panthers to a national championship in 1976. He later served as the offensive coordinator at Tennessee (1977-79) and the head coach at Oregon State (1980-84). He reprised his role as offensive line coach for Texas A&M from 1985-88, winning three Southwest Conference titles and two Cotton Bowls. Jimmy Johnson hired Avezzano to be the special-teams coach for the Dallas Cowboys in 1990, and he was honored as the best in his profession in 1991, 1993 and 1998. He also coached the special-teams unit for the Oakland Raiders from 2003-05.