Nine new faces on midseason Wooden list

Updated: January 29, 2004, 5:01 PM ET

Nine players who were not on the Wooden Award's preseason list of candidates were selected to the midseason list released Tuesday.

New to the list are B.J. Elder (Georgia Tech), Devin Harris (Wisconsin), Kris Humphries (Minnesota), Andre Iguodala (Arizona), Matt Lottich (Stanford), Sean May (North Carolina), Chris Paul (Wake Forest) and Ronny Turiaf (Gonzaga). Players from 10 conferences appear on the list of 30 players. The Big East boasts a high of six players on the list, while the ACC is represented by five players. The Pac-10 and SEC each have four players on the list.

The Wooden Award Committee bases the midseason top 30 on individual player performance and team records through the early part of the season. Players who do not make the list are still eligible for consideration for the Wooden Award. The committee will pare the list down to a final ballot consisting of approximately 20 players. The official ballot will be released in early March.

The 2004 award ceremony, which will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All-American Team, the inaugural Women's Wooden Award and the presentation of the Legends of Coaching Award, will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on Saturday, April 10, 2004. The All-American team will be announced on March 30, 2003 and the top five candidates will be invited to Los Angeles for the Awards ceremony.

Midseason Wooden Award List
Player School Yr. Pos. PPG
Rafael Araujo BYU Sr. C 19.8
Andre Barrett Seton Hall Sr. G 18.4
Travis Diener Marquette Jr. G 16.8
Ike Diogu Arizona State So. F 23.2
Chris Duhon Duke Sr. G 10.2
B.J. Elder Georgia Tech Jr. G/F 15.8
Andre Emmett Texas Tech Sr. F 21.5
Gerald Fitch Kentucky Sr. G 16.3
Matt Freije Vanderbilt Sr. F 18.5
Francisco Garcia Louisville So. F 15.5
Ryan Gomes Providence Jr. F 19.6
Ben Gordon Connecticut Jr. G 17.9
Devin Harris Wisconsin Jr. G 17.6
Julius Hodge NC State Jr. G 17.3
Kris Humphries Minnesota Fr. F 22.7
Andre Iguodala Arizona So. F 12.6
Luke Jackson Oregon Sr. F 22.3
David Lee Florida Jr. F 15.6
Matt Lottich Stanford Sr. G 13.4
Jason Maxiell Cincinnati Jr. F 14.7
Sean May North Carolina So. F/C 15.8
Jameer Nelson Saint Joseph's Sr. G 20.2
Emeka Okafor Connecticut Jr. F/C 18.9
Julius Page Pittsburgh Sr. G 13.1
Chris Paul Wake Forest Fr. G 12.3
Lawrence Roberts Mississippi State Jr. F 16.7
Romain Sato Xavier Sr. G 15.8
Wayne Simien Kansas Jr. F 15.7
Ronny Turiaf Gonzaga Jr. F 15.9
Hakim Warrick Syracuse Jr. F 19.8