Orange's Warrick among three to repeat on first team

Updated: March 7, 2005, 1:13 PM ET
Associated Press

PROVIDENCE, R.I. -- Hakim Warrick of Syracuse, Ryan Gomes of Providence and Craig Smith of Boston College were selected to the All-Big East team for the second straight season Monday.

Hakim Warrick

Warrick, a preseason All-America, was the only unanimous choice on the six-man team picked by the league's coaches.

Also on the first team were Jared Dudley of Boston College, Chevon Troutman of Pittsburgh and Gerry McNamara of Syracuse.

Warrick, a 6-foot-8 senior, was second in the conference in scoring at 21.2 points and fourth in rebounding at 8.2. The 6-7 Gomes, a first-team All-America last season as a junior, led the Big East in scoring at 21.7 and was third in rebounding at 8.2.

The 6-7 Smith, a junior, was fourth in scoring at 17.8 and second in rebounding at 8.5.

Dudley, an all-rookie selection last season, averaged 16.2 points and 7.6 rebounds for the Eagles. Troutman, a senior, averaged 15.3 points and 8.0 rebounds and led the conference in shooting at 58.7 percent.

McNamara, a junior, was the lone guard chosen after averaging 15.7 points and leading the conference with 95 3-pointers.

It was the third time in conference history that two schools had two first-team selections. It was the ninth time Syracuse, which finished third in the conference, had two players chosen for the first team. Georgetown is second having two players selected twice.

It was the first time Boston College, which finished tied for the regular season title with Connecticut, had two players chosen for the first team. The Eagles, a Big East charter member since 1979, leave for the Atlantic Coast Conference next season.

Connecticut (Josh Boone, Charlie Villanueva) and Villanova (Allan Ray, Curtis Sumpter) each had two players on the second team along with Carl Krauser of Pittsburgh.

The third team had Marcus Williams of Connecticut, Brandon Bowman of Georgetown, Chris Thomas of Notre Dame, Daryll Hill of St. John's and Randy Foye of Villanova.

Connecticut's Rudy Gay and Georgetown's Jeff Green were unanimous selections to the all-rookie team and were joined by Sean Williams of Boston College, Ronald Ramon of Pittsburgh, Ollie Bailey of Rutgers and Kyle Lowry of Villanova.

The conference's coach and player of the year will be announced Tuesday.

Copyright 2005 by The Associated Press