Bogut, Redick, Simien also finalists for player of year


LOS ANGELES -- Utah's Andrew Bogut, Dee Brown of Illinois,
Sean May of North Carolina, Duke's J.J. Redick and Wayne Simien of
Kansas were named finalists for the John R. Wooden Award as college
basketball's player of the year Tuesday.

The award will be presented April 9 from the Los Angeles
Athletic Club.

More than 1,000 national sports writers and college basketball
experts cast their votes, which were due Monday. Brown and May will
play in the NCAA Final Four this weekend in St. Louis.

Voters chose a 10-member Wooden All-American team, with the top
five vote getters being named Wooden Award finalists.

The other Wooden All-Americans are: Francisco Garcia of
Louisville, Chris Paul of Wake Forest, Salim Stoudamire of Arizona,
Hakim Warrick of Syracuse and Deron Williams of Illinois.

Garcia and Williams also will play in this weekend's Final Four.
Bogut, a 7-foot sophomore, announced Monday that he will enter the
NBA draft in April.

Connecticut's Jim Calhoun will receive the Legends of Coaching
award during the ceremony.