Big East coaches pick Villanova to win conference

NEW YORK -- Villanova, which returns five starters from last
year's team that reached the third round of the NCAA Tournament,
was picked Wednesday to win the Big East this season by the
league's coaches.

The Wildcats received nine first-place votes, two more than
Connecticut, which has four starters back from last season's team
that tied for the regular-season title.

"It is an honor being picked by coaches in a league like
this," Villanova coach Jay Wright said. "Now we have to go out
and earn it."

Louisville, one of the Big East's five new members that all
moved from Conference USA, was third in the voting. The Cardinals
tied a school record with 33 wins last season when they advanced to
the Final Four.

"Basketball-wise, this is as good as it gets," Louisville
coach Rick Pitino said. "The competition will be on the court and
in recruiting and that's huge."

Syracuse was fourth, followed by West Virginia, Georgetown,
Pittsburgh, Notre Dame, Cincinnati, St. John's, DePaul, Marquette,
Providence, Rutgers, Seton Hall and South Florida.

Cincinnati, DePaul, Marquette and South Florida are the other
new members. Boston College, a charter member of the 25-year-old
Big East, left for the Atlantic Coast Conference.

"We are too big, but everything in America is too big," Big
East commissioner Mike Tranghese said. "We just happen to be a
little bit bigger than the others."

Asked if he was worried that there wouldn't be enough at-large
bids to the NCAA Tournament to accommodate all of the quality teams
in the conference, Tranghese said "I'm not concerned about it at

Syracuse senior guard Gerry McNamara and Connecticut sophomore
forward Rudy Gay were selected preseason co-players of the year.

McNamara averaged 15.8 points as a junior and is the Orange's
all-time leader with 297 3-pointers.

The 6-foot-9 Gay was the league's co-rookie of the year last
season with Georgetown's Jeff Green.

Joining Gay and McNamara on the 10-member preseason all-Big East
team were: Josh Boone, Connecticut; Taquan Dean, Louisville; Carl
Krauser, Pittsburgh; Daryll Hill, St. John's; Randy Foye,
Villanova; Allan Ray, Villanova; Curtis Sumpter, Villanova; and
Kevin Pittsnogle, West Virginia.

Syracuse's Eric Devendorf, a 6-4 guard, was chosen the preseason
rookie of the year.

Sumpter, a 6-7 senior forward, re-injured his left knee in
practice last week and is out indefinitely. Sumpter tore his ACL
against Florida in the second round of the NCAA Tournament. The
coaches were polled before Sumpter's injury.

"Are they going to give us an asterisk?" Wright asked with a
laugh. "Curtis is going to have surgery on Nov. 11. At first we
were devastated but we just went back to work."

Only 12 of the 16 teams advance to the Big East tournament at
Madison Square Garden.