Carroll's late free throws are difference for Utah St.

Updated: February 19, 2006, 1:27 AM ET
Associated Press

LOGAN, UTAH -- Nate Harris scored 27 points and Jaycee Carroll dropped in four free throws in the final 40 seconds to give Utah State University a 66-63 win over Northwestern State Saturday night.

Running Down
BracketBusters Saturday
Winner Busted Final
No. Iowa Bucknell 65-61 (2OT)
Iona Buffalo 93-75
Kent State Butler 80-76 (OT)
Missouri St. Wis.-Milw. 72-63
Western Ky. No. Arizona 79-58
Old Dominion Marist 84-71
La. Tech So. Illinois 54-51
George Mason Wichita St. 70-67
Ohio Samford 64-52
Utah State Northwestern St. 66-63
Creighton Fresno State 67-62

Harris scored 19 in the second half for the Aggies (18-6, 8-4 Western Athletic Conference). Carroll scored 19 for USU, 12 of those points in the second half.

The Demons (18-7, 11-1 Southland Conference) were led in scoring by Clifton Lee with 20 points and Jermaine Wallace with 12.

After a 4-3 lead in the game's opening moments, USU did not lead again until Chaz Spicer dropped in a free throw with 1:06 remaining in the game. Northwestern would regain the lead, but Carroll got fouled to swing the lead back to the Aggies.

Northwestern had two chances to take another lead, but Lee missed two free throws and a desperation 3-pointer at the buzzer by Luke Rogers fell away.

USU trailed by 13 to begin the second half, but crawled back into the game with a 13-4 run to start the half, in which Harris scored eight points.

USU shot 58 percent from the field in the second half, while Northwestern shot 38 percent in the second half.

With a 7-0 run, the Demons ran out to a 10-5 lead to begin the game. Northwestern State led by nine points midway in the first half before USU tightened it to an 18-17 score. The Demons then went on 10-0 run and took a 34-21 halftime lead.

Clifton Lee dropped in three 3-point shots in the first half, while USU was only 1-of-8 beyond the 3-point line in the opening half.

The midseason nonconference game was part of the ESPN BracketBusters series.

Copyright 2006 by The Associated Press