Five finalists named for Wooden Award

Updated: March 28, 2007, 6:38 PM ET
Associated Press

LOS ANGELES -- Freshmen Greg Oden of Ohio State and Kevin Durant of Texas are among the five finalists for the John R. Wooden Award, presented to college basketball's outstanding player.

Others invited for the April 7 presentation at the Los Angeles Athletic Club are North Carolina sophomore Tyler Hansbrough, Texas A&M senior Acie Law IV and Wisconsin senior Alando Tucker.

Also honored Wednesday as Wooden All-Americans were UCLA junior Arron Afflalo, Oregon senior Aaron Brooks, Nevada senior Nick Fazekas, Florida junior Joakim Noah, and Kansas sophomore Brandon Rush.

The award ceremony at the Los Angeles Athletic Club will include the presentation of the men's and women's Wooden Award, the All-America teams and Legends of Coaching award to former Purdue coach Gene Keady. The top five women's finalists will also be invited.

The Wooden Award was created in 1976 -- a year after the former UCLA coach retired after guiding the Bruins to 10 NCAA championships in a 12-year span. Among the previous male winners were Larry Bird, Michael Jordan and Tim Duncan.

Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press