Late dunk doesn't count as UCLA beats A&M by two on Sat.
INDIANAPOLIS -- Texas A&M pulled within two of UCLA on Sunday. Too bad the game ended Saturday night.
The NCAA clarified the score of the top-seeded Bruins' second-round victory over the Aggies, saying the officials waved off Russell Westbrook's dunk as time expired and the final was 51-49 instead of 53-49.
It turns out Westbrook didn't make it to the basket in time, and officials disallowed the hoop.
"Amidst the activity courtside, there was a misinterpretation of the signal," Hank Nichols, national coordinator of men's basketball officiating, said in a release Sunday. "But the ruling on the court was that the basket should not have counted, making the final score 51-49, not 53-49."
The Bruins (33-3) will face Western Kentucky in the West Regional semifinals Thursday in Phoenix.
Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press
MORE MEN'S COLLEGE BASKETBALL HEADLINES
- No. 15 Iowa State holds off No. 19 Texas
- UW dismisses Upshaw for violating team rules
- UNC catches fire late to put away Syracuse
- Unbeatens Kentucky, Virginia still atop AP poll