Johnson also won the Nagurski Trophy

Updated: December 11, 2004, 12:45 AM ET
Associated Press

ORLANDO, Fla. -- Texas linebacker Derrick Johnson won the Butkus Award on Friday night as the nation's best linebacker.

Johnson is the first Texas player to win the award, beating out Ahmad Brooks of Virginia and Matt Grootegoed of Southern California.

Johnson, who was a Butkus finalist last year as a junior, led the Longhorns this season with 128 tackles, 78 solo and 19 for loss. He also added two sacks, one interception and eight forced fumbles for No. 6 Texas, which faces No. 13 Michigan in the Rose Bowl on New Year's Day.

Johnson has already been named the winner of the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded to the nation's best defensive player. He was also a finalist for the Lombardi Award, given to the top college lineman. Georgia's David Pollack won the Lombardi.

Named for NFL Hall of Fame linebacker Dick Butkus, the award is presented by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando.

Copyright 2004 by The Associated Press