Heisman winner adds to award stack

Updated: December 23, 2004, 9:43 PM ET
Associated Press

USC: Matt Leinart is The Associated Press player of the year.

Leinart has completed 66 percent of his passes for 2,990 yards and 28 touchdowns, guiding the top-ranked Trojans to an Orange Bowl matchup with No. 2 Oklahoma and last year's AP player of the year, Jason White.

The AP player of the year voting was closer than this season's Heisman balloting, but the final order was similar. Leinart received 17 votes from a nationwide panel of 64 media members. White and his freshman ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?