Discussion

Tide's Castille ruled academically ineligible

Updated: December 23, 2005, 11:31 AM ET
Associated Press

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. -- Alabama defensive back Simeon Castille was ruled academically ineligible for the Cotton Bowl on Jan. 2 against Texas Tech.

Castille started every game this season and made two interceptions. Coach Mike Shula said Thursday the sophomore was ineligible under a Southeastern Conference rule.

"Everyone else should make the trip, as far as we know, right now," Shula said.

The loss of Castille could be significant against a Texas Tech team that relies ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

MORE COLLEGE FOOTBALL HEADLINES