Former Heisman winners share award

10/2/2003 - Army Black Knights

DALLAS -- Doc Blanchard and Glenn Davis, who won consecutive
Heisman Trophies during their days as "Mr. Inside" and "Mr.
Outside" at Army, were chosen Thursday to receive the Doak Walker
Legends Award.

Blanchard and Davis were picked by the board of directors for
the SMU athletic forum, the group that presents the Doak Walker
Award to the nation's top college running back.

The tandem will be honored Feb. 12 at a ceremony also honoring
this season's recipient.

Larry Johnson of Penn State won last year, with Earl Campbell
receiving the legends award.

Blanchard won the Heisman in 1945 and Davis was the
runner-up, then won the trophy the following season.

Blanchard scored 38 touchdowns in his career at West Point and
ran for 1,908 yards in three years. He also starred as a punter and
kick returner. He has lived in Texas since retiring after a career
in the Army Air Force.

Davis scored 59 touchdowns, averaging almost one every nine
plays. He later served in the Army in Korea, then played on two
championship teams with the Los Angeles Rams.